Sunday, March 27, 2011

Insult/Rampant Decay Split 7" Vinyl EP Out Now! RAMPANT DECAY on Tour!

This split offers up a handful of tracks from two of Boston`s finest. Insult have been kicking around since the early 90`s, and they haven`t changed much. They`re still kicking out rapid fire, whiplash hardcore tunes. Fans of Siege, Deep Wound, and SSD will dig the band`s old school, speed for the sake of speed approach, which never really hits the pace of grindcore or powerviolence, but still packs a mean wallop due to its raw intensity. They offer up six songs in under four minutes, ending with the midtempo "Diddler On Patrole", which sounds closer to Black Flag, and is the longest track, clocking in at just under a minute and a half.
Rampant Decay are a newer act, forming in 2006, and their sound is even more aggressive and abrasive. They mix elements of grind, thrash, crust punk, and sludge into a colossal blender and spew out short, well constructed anthems for these shattered times. They contribute three distinct tracks to their side of the split, and each has its own defining moment. "Apocalypterian" juxtaposes blasts and chainsaw guitars with slowed down sludge, while "Pigshit" is characterized by its infections breakdown. "I Wish All My Friends Were Dead" brings more of a Discharge influence to the table, before exploding into blasts for the grand finale.
All in all, this is a cool split with an old school vibe that reminds me of seven inch splits of lore, from "back in the day." While Insult definitely have that throwback vibe to them and will appeal to those who loved the This Is Boston, Not LA comp, Rampant Decay seem to have more modern sensibilities, and I can see them winning over some fans from the extremephiles that frequent this site. Recommended.

RAMPANT DECAY will be embarking on a one week tour to support this new release:

29 Brooklyn, NY - The Acheron
30 Philadelphia, PA - JR's Bar

01 Baltimore, MD - Barclay House
02 Pittsburgh, PA - Kopec's
03 Cleveland, OH - Now That's Class
04 Lansing, MI - Oade's Hidden Camel
06 Appleton, WI - Locust Lounge
07 Cleveland, OH - Tower 2012

Rampant Decay on Myspace
Insult on Myspace

Join the PATAC Records Mailing List
* indicates required

On The Road With ANAL CUNT. 2011 USA Tour

Tour Kickoff - Boston, MA

Part 1:

Part 2:

sell music online


Join the PATAC Records Mailing List
* indicates required

DECEASED - New Album 'Surreal Overdose' Details Revealed

Virginian death/thrash metal veterans metal DECEASED will head back into the studio this year to record "Surreal Overdose", their first full-length of all-new material since 2005's "As The Weird Travel On". The long-running metal maestros have kept the faith since 1985, summoning a slew of cult releases and building up an immensely dedicated fanbase that has followed the band merrily into hell and back. Now, at the dawn of 2011, King Fowley and his band of 'bangers have returned!

Fowley will return to the drum kit for this recording, handling both drums and vocals. The band will welcome in longtime live member Shane Fuegel on guitar (replacing longtime axeman Mark Adams who retired from music in 2007), while Mike Smith continues on studio guitar alongside longtime bassist Les Snyder.

"Surreal Overdose" will be recorded at Assembly Line Studios in Virginia with Kevin Gutierrez engineering and Fowley producing. The CD will be issued in the U.S. via the band's own label, Shrieks From The Hearse Records, alongside PATAC Records. Hell's Headbangers will handle the vinyl edition, while overseas distribution will be announced shortly.

"Surreal Overdose" track listing (tentative running times):

01. Skin Crawling Progress (7:00)
02. Kindred Assembly (4:30)
03. The Traumatic (5:30)
04. Cloned (Day of the Robot) (5:40)
05. Vulture Shock (4:55)
06. In the Laboratory Of Joyous Gloom (6:55)
07. A Doom-Laden Aura (1:20)
08. Dying In Analog (7:50)

The "Surreal Overdose" artwork was created by Raul Gonzalez and can be viewed below.

DECEASED's latest album, "As the Weird Travel On", was released in April 2005 on Thrash Corner Records.

Join the PATAC Records Mailing List
* indicates required